Our Board and executive teams are made up of dedicated, enthusiastic individuals who are passionate about a fairer world for children.

Our Executive Team


Susanne Legena, CEO

BA, MA (Professional Communication)

Susanne joined Plan in 2011. Prior to this appointment Susanne had extensive senior management experience across a wide range of public policy, public sector management and communications areas includes a role as Chief of Staff for the Victorian Minister for Energy & Resources and the Arts. Susanne is a keen gardener and keeps bees that produce delicious, locally-sourced honey.


Dave Husy, Director, Programs

BA (Sociology/Politics), BA (Hons),MA (Development Studies)

Dave joined Plan in 2008 bringing nine years' experience as a program strategy and review consultant with international development agencies in South and East Africa. Prior to that, Dave worked for ten years as a senior NGO manager in southern Africa. When he’s not overseas reviewing programs, you’ll probably find Dave training for a marathon.


Steve Timmerman, Director, Corporate Services

Steve Timmerman joined Plan as Director Corporate Services in May 2017. Steve has 30+ years’ experience in the commercial and NFP sectors in executive leadership roles spanning mining, advertising, commercial real estate, logistics, health, education and community services.

Steve is a CPA with a B.Com (Melb) and a Graduate Certificate in Social Impact from Melbourne Business School. In 2016 he completed the Company Directors course with AICD.


Gaye Wealthy, Director, People & Culture

GradDip EdA (HRM & OD), FAHRI

Gaye joined Plan in 2013 bringing 20 years experience in senior Human Resource Management leadership roles in the corporate and not-for-profit sectors, including the St Vincent de Paul Society, Crown Limited, and the ANZ Banking Group. Gaye’s key areas of expertise include, workplace relations, employment law, HRM strategy, change and risk management, OD, and is a Fellow of AHRI. In addition to her Graduate Diploma in Education, Gaye also holds a pilot's license.


Our Board is responsible for guiding our strategic direction, and is accountable for our actions and the impact of our activities.

Jason Pellegrino

Jason Pellegrino

BComm (Accounting), MBA (Hons. List)

Jason is Google’s Managing Director for Australia and New Zealand. Prior to this, Jason was responsible for Google’s business strategy and commercial capabilities across the Asia Pacific region. Jason has spent over 15 years in Corporate Strategy, Mergers & Acquisitions and Sales & Marketing in retail, technology and consumer product industries with LEK Consulting, PepsiCo International & KPMG.


Sally Treeby

Masters Business (Mkt), Bachelor Business, GAICD.

Sally Treeby is an experienced non-executive director whose board positions also include a private investment company and a philanthropic foundation. Her career has spanned executive and non-executive roles in financial services, agriculture and the philanthropic and community sectors in Australia and the United Kingdom covering the disciplines of strategy, marketing, line management, general management and ethics. Sally and her husband own a bull stud in southern NSW.


Amanda McKenzie

B Laws (Hons.), B Arts (Political Science)

Amanda McKenzie is Chief Executive Officer of the Climate Council of Australia. Amanda worked previously as a senior communications advisor to the Climate Commission, and spent four years as National Director of the Australian Youth Climate Coalition. Amanda is also a member of the board of the Centre for Australian Progress.


Gerry Hueston (Chair)

BSc, BCom

Gerry Hueston recently retired as President of BP in Australasia after a 34-year career with BP in Australia, NZ, UK and Europe. He is a past board member of the Business Council of Australia, a past Chairman and board member of the Australian Institute of Petroleum, a former member of the Chairman’s Panel of the Australian Great Barrier Reef Foundation. He is currently Chairman of the Climate Council and a member of the Plan International board.


Julie Hamblin (Deputy Chair)


Julie Hamblin is an experienced health lawyer, with expertise in clinical risk, health ethics, privacy, medical research and public health policy.  She also works as a consultant to the disability and not-for-profit sectors, particularly in relation to child protection, institutional risk and critical incident management.

She has extensive experience in international development having worked with the United Nations Development Programme and other organisations on projects relating to public health and HIV/AIDS in more than 20 countries in Asia, the Pacific, Africa and Eastern Europe. 

Government appointments have included the Australian Research Integrity Committee, the NSW Health Clinical Ethics Advisory Panel, the Australian National Council on HIV/AIDS and Related Diseases, and the Attorney-General's International Pro Bono Advisory Group.


Dr Brian Babington

BA (Hons.), MA, PhD

Dr Brian Babington is Chief Executive Officer, Families Australia; Convenor of the National Coalition on Child Safety and Wellbeing; Co-Chair of the National Forum for Protecting Australian’s Children. Brian is a member of the Plan International Inc. Program Advisory Committee.


Michael Corry


Michael Corry is a finance professional with extensive experience across a range of enterprises in both commercial and community arenas. He is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Secretary and holds an MA in Economics from Christ’s College, Cambridge. Michael also sits on the Board of Directors for Palliative Care Victoria.


Philippa Quinn

Philippa has almost 20 years' experience in news and current affairs journalism as well as public relations in Australia and internationally. She has worked for the past ten years at the Australian Broadcasting Corporation on flagship programs including Australian Story and 7.30. She is currently working as National Network News Editor, ABC TV News.


Jason Chuck

B.App Sci (Computer Engineering), MBA (Hons. List)

Jason Chuck is Houzz's Managing Director for the Asia Pacific Region (ANZ, IN, SG, JP) and their Global Growth Markets (IT, ES, RU). He was also Houzz's first employee in the region, founding their Sydney office and business.

Prior to Houzz, Jason was the Managing Director for Etsy ANZ and before that, led the successful launch of eHarmony into the Australian market, and subsequently went on to lead eHarmony's international operations.  Prior to that, Jason was Google and YouTube's head of marketing for Australia and New Zealand

Jason holds a Bachelor's degree in Computer Engineering from the University of British Columbia and an MBA (Distinction) from INSEAD.


final_for website

Kawal Randhawa

Kawal Randhawa has been working in the banking sector for 10 years and is an experienced Risk Professional who is passionate about adding value in everything she does. She prefers to create genuine relationships with all her key stakeholders as she believes this assists in delivering the right outcome for the business.

Kawal completed her Commerce Degree, and went on to obtain her CPA qualification. She is currently studying Juris Doctor. In her current role, she is responsible for managing and supporting number of business in Business Banking in relation to risk management. In her previous role, she managed the third party suppliers from governance perspective.

Kawal is also passionate making a difference in our community, by giving back. She has a goal to work in non-profit organisations. She participates in charity runs to stay fit and to give back to the community. Kawal enjoys travelling with her family.